CAHVIOStrasbourg, 23 April 2014 – As Andorra became the 10th country to ratify the Council of Europe's Convention on preventing and combating violence against women and domestic violence, the treaty – which required 10 ratifications to enter into force – will become applicable on 1 August this year.

In a statement today, Council of Europe Secretary General Thorbjørn Jagland praises its application, stressing how the convention pulls together judicial reform, victim support and monitoring to eradicate violence against women.

The convention’s entry into force is set for 1 August this year, because governments that have ratified need time to take necessary administrative steps to apply it.

So far the following countries have ratified the treaty: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Italy, Montenegro, Portugal, Serbia, Spain and Turkey. Denmark is expected to ratify this week as well.